Wild mushrooms found on river island… need help with the ID

wildmushroomscape.jpg

2 responses to “Wild mushrooms found on river island… need help with the ID

  1. they look like Honey Mushrooms to me, but I would not be sure unless I looked at them up close. I recommend getting David Aurora’s Mushrooms Demystified to ID them properly. Never trust anyone who claims to ID your shrooms by looking at a pictre online.

    –irina

  2. Hmm…

    If I were you, I would take a photo or a sample to somebody at UCLA (mycology department.) It might be of use to know what it is as if the guy above is correct it could indicate an introduced species (Honey ‘shrooms are native to Northern California, not southern.)

    However, whatever you do, DO NOT EAT THEM! I live back east and I remember a case where some poor Asian guy went foraging in the woods and brought back a bunch of death caps-he lost his kidneys as a result. (Apparently they look a lot like another species found in China.)

Leave a Reply

